Our Board

Stephan van der Walt
Managing director
B.Com Acc (cum laude), B.Com Acc (Hons) (cum laude), CA (SA)
JSE Approved Executive

Stephan is a co-founder of the Pallidus Group. He began his career in corporate finance in 2005 after spending four years in the banking and capital markets division of PricewaterhouseCoopers.

Stephan has advised on numerous mergers and acquisitions, BEE transactions, corporate restructurings, equity and debt raisings, venture capital raisings and rights issues, and has an in-depth knowledge of the accounting, legal, tax and regulatory environment that impacts on transactions.

JD Symington
Executive director
B.Acc, B.Acc (Hons), CA (SA)
JSE Approved Executive

JD is a co-founder of the Pallidus Group. He began his career in investment banking and corporate finance at Nedbank investment banking. JD has advised on numerous mergers & acquisitions, restructurings, BEE Transactions, capital raises, listings, delistings and other corporate actions in amongst others South Africa, Namibia, Australia and Europe. He has an in-depth and specialised knowledge of accounting, tax, exchange control, competition legislations, listings requirements and other regulatory implications impacting on corporate actions and transactions.

Le Roux van Zyl
Executive director
BA LLB LLM (cum laude)
JSE Approved Executive

Le Roux is a co-founder of the Pallidus Group and an admitted attorney.

He has significant corporate finance expertise in mergers, acquisitions, corporate restructurings, BEE transactions, listings, delistings and capital raisings.

Thys Roux
Non-executive chairman
B.Com Acc

Thys started his career as an accountancy teacher and spent the largest portion of his career in merchant banking before deciding to start his own finance house in 1985. Since then the Roux family has been involved in property finance and development through their corporate finance house, Rouxfin Finance. Thys has been an investor in numerous businesses since, and has proved himself as a successful entrepreneur and businessman.

Louis van der Watt
Non-executive director

Louis is a co-founder and CEO of the multinational Atterbury Property Group, which has grown into one of the most successful property companies in South Africa. He is an experienced entrepreneur and private equity investor. In 2009 he was awarded the Christo Wiese Medal for Entrepreneurship from the South African Academy for Science and Arts, in 2012 he received the University of Pretoria Alumni Laureate Award and in 2015 the Business Leader of the Year award from the Capital City Business Chamber.

Konrad Fleischhauer
Non-executive director
B.Eng (Industrial) Honours, MBA

Konrad is an experienced private equity investor. Before co-founding Fledge Capital with Louis van der Watt, he managed private equity investments at Gensec Private Equity, Treacle and Investec Principal Investments.

Dr Henry Symington
Non-executive director
MB.ChB, M.Med (Rad D)

After qualifying as medical doctor, he specialised in radiology, and has practised as a radiologist for more than 30 years. Henry has been an active investor in the healthcare industry, having developed various hospitals and other healthcare assets. Henry has also invested in numerous other businesses and asset classes, and has proved himself to be an astute investor.

Dr Werner Roux
Non-executive director

After finishing medical school and his internship, Werner decided not to pursue a medical career and, instead, joined the family business. He also completed a marketing degree (IMM) and an MBA in 2001 at the University of Hull (UK), specialising in Strategic Marketing. The Roux family has built a family business extending across numerous industries from the sugar industry to the property industry.